WARWICK DEEPING (1877-1950) - English Author

Warwick Deeping - prolific English author, he studied medicine and served in the Royal Army Medical Corps during World War I. Many of his books have a doctor as the main character. His most popular book was Sorrell and son which was made into a film and a TV show.

This alphabetical list includes the first edition dates and also the UK and alternative US titles.

Apples of gold                       1923
Bertrand of Brittany                       1911
Bess of the woods               1906
Blind man's year  1937
Caroline terrace  1955
Corn in Egypt                                1941
Countess Glika and other stories                1919
Dark house, The                        1941
Doomsday                                1927
Exiles                                1930
Fantasia aka Blue water                        1939
Fox Farm aka The eyes of love                1911
House of adventure, The                        1921
House of spies, The                        1913
I live again                                1942
Impudence of youth, The                        1946
Joan of the tower                        1911
Kitty                                1928
Lame Englishman, The                        1910
Lantern Lane                        1921
Laughing house                        1946
Love among the ruins                1904
Mad Barbara aka These white hands        1908
Malice of men                                1938
Man in chains                                1953
Man on the white horse, The 1934
Man who went back, The 1940
Marriage by conquest 1915
Martin Valiant 1917
Mr Gurney and Mr Slade 
    aka The cleric's secret   1944
No hero, this 1936
Old mischief 1950
Old Pybus 1928
Old wine and new 1932
Old world dies, The 1954
Orchard aka The captive wife 1922
Paradise Place 1949
Portrait of a playboy 1947
Pride of Eve, The 1914
Prophetic marriage, The 1920
Red saint, The 1909
Reprieve 1945
Return of the petticoat, The 1928
Road, The 
aka The ten commandments  1931
Roper's Row 1929
Rust of Rome, The 1910
Sackcloth into silk 
aka The golden cord 1935
Second youth aka The awakening 1919
Secret sanctuary, The 1927
Serpent's tooth, The 1956
Seven men came back 1934
Seven streams, The 1905
Shabby summer aka Folly Island 1939
The king behind the king 
aka The shield of love 1914
Short stories of Warwick Deeping 1930
Sincerity aka The challenge of love 
aka The strong hand 1920
Slade 1943
Slanderers. The 1907
Smith 1932
Sorrell and son 1925
Stories of love, courage 
and compassion 1930
Suvla John 1931
Sword and the cross, The 1957
Three rooms 1924
Three stories of romance 
contains Martrydom 1936
Time to heal 1952
Two black sheep 1933
Two in a train and other stories 1935
Unrest aka Bridge of desire 1928
Uther and Igraine 1903
Valour 1918
White gate, The 1948
Woman at the door, The 1937
Woman's war, A 1911